The Cedar Springs Red Hawks entered Saturday’s showdown on an emotional high, after defeating the Muskegon Big Reds in a stunner the week before. Their task was even taller in the Regional Finals, with a matchup against DeWitt, the defending Division 3 State Champions. Cedar Springs’ quest for their first Regional Championship since 2000 was denied, falling to the Panthers 42-14.

DeWitt was in control from the opening kickoff, scoring the first 28 points of the contest. In the first quarter, Nick Flegler carried the ball 8 yards for the opening score. During the second quarter, star quarterback Ty Holtz ran up the middle for a 2-yard touchdown. The Panthers took a 21-0 halftime lead when Bryce Debri powered up the middle for a 7-yard score. The run reached its end when Holtz found Tommy McIntosh on a 41-yard pass play midway through the third quarter.

Cedar Springs finally found the end zone on a 3-yard quarterback keeper by Aiden Brunin. His extra point kick moved the tally to 28-7 in favor of the Panthers. Throughout the fourth quarter, both teams would find the end zone. DeWitt scored twice, both times involving Nick Flegler. First, he caught a 18-yard pass from Holtz. Secondly, he rushed for a 16-yard score. Sandwiched in between was the Cedar Springs touchdown, an 18-yard run by Aiden Brunin.

DeWitt outgained Cedar Springs 415-237. The Panthers’ balanced attack passed for 139 yards and rushed for 276. Ty Holtz was 9/14 passing for 139 yards and two scores. He added 48 rushing yards and another touchdown. Bryce Debri led DeWitt with 128 rushing yards on 20 carries. Nick Flegler finished with 81 rushing yards, 36 receiving yards, and three scores.

Cedar Springs saw Aiden Brunin complete 3/4 passes, with the fourth ball being caught by the DeWitt defense. Brunin racked up 54 yards through the air and 63 on the ground. Antuwan Nicholls was bottled up to 50 yards, while Carter Falan added 52.

Next week, DeWitt will face St Joseph in the Division 3 Semifinals. This game will take place at Jenison High School on Saturday at 1:00.