The Tri-River 8-Man Football League has their first ever champion. Regardless of their result in a league finale against Maple Valley on October 8, Britton Deerfield has locked up at least a share of the inaugural title. This comes as a result of their 68-0 thrashing of the Jayhawks of Vandercook Lake.

Just two minutes into the game, Britton Deerfield got on the scoreboard. Nick Wayne ran for a 4-yard touchdown to put the team ahead by six. Midway through the quarter, Wayne added a 5-yard rushing score to extend the lead to fourteen. As the quarter ended, Mason Mueller intercepted a pass and raced to the end zone. This gave the Patriots a 22-0 advantage.

Nicolas Johnson and Noah McRobert paired up for a 20-yard score, and a minute later he tossed to Mueller for a 28-yard pass. Johnson wasn’t done, as he would use his legs on a 2-yard score that moved the lead to 46-0. As the second quarter came to an end, Nick Wayne powered across the goal line for his third rushing score of the half. This gave the Patriots a 54-0 halftime lead.

In the second half, the running clock was in effect. Britton Deerfield scored twice in the second half to extend their final tally. Jesse Null ran in a 7-yard touchdown in the third quarter. In the final frame, Connor Alcock powered across the goal line from 3 yards out.

Britton Deerfield outgained Vandercook Lake 337-74. Nicolas Johnson was 4/5 passing for 117 yards. Tristan Johnson (53), Nick Wayne (50), Asher Wiser (48), Jesse Null (27) and Mason Mueller (26) led the team rushing attack. Mason Mueller had 64 receiving yards to lead the team.

Next week, Britton Deerfield (4-0) will step out of conference play for a game against Oakland Christian. Vandercook Lake (2-2) will take on Concord on Friday.